Scroll Top

Sunshine Coast Tournament Results


The 2012 Telstra Shop Kawana Waters Classic was held from February 2-5 with the competition going right down to the wire.

Congratulations to the team on Kamikaze for their hard fought win. With blue marlin being tagged right through to the dying hours of the second day by several boats (including a lot that were dropped), it was anyone’s game.

Special mention must go to Andrew Yeh and Peter Bain for finishing second place overall and Champion Boat 7m and Under for their 2 blue marlin after fishing 40+ miles out in a 5.2m plate centre console, in trying conditions. Third place went to the Matt Wallace’s ever-reliable Fish Whisperer skippered by Ross Martin. In the 7m and Under Boat category is was Yeh and Bain on No Name to win followed by Out Quoting and the boys on Dragon Lady, in their very first tournament.

As usual a great time was had by all at the SCGFC base at the Kawana Waters Hotel with 23 boats entering. The official results are below.

Official Results for the 2012 Telstra Shop Kawana Waters SCGFC Classic.

Champion Team Overall – Kamikaze – 4500 Points
Champion Angler Overall – Peter Bain – 3000 Points
Champion Angler Runner Up – Troy Wakely – 1500 Points
Champion Male Angler Light Tackle – Channon Arbutnot – 1000 Points
Champion Male Angler Heavy Tackle – Peter Bain – 3000 Points
Champion Female Angler Light Tackle – Kellie Jensen – 331.25 Points
Champion Female Angler Heavy Tackle – Sarah Higgins – 1500 Points
Champion Junior – Ryan McKinnon – 1000 Points
Champion Angler Other Species – Kellie Jensen – 331.25 Points
Champion Light Tackle Boat – Reel Capture – 1606.87 Points.

Boat 7 m and Over Placing’s.

1.  Kamikaze 4,500 Points
2. Fish Whisperer 3,000 Points
3. Reel Capture 1,606.87 Points
4. Relaxn 1,500 Points
5. Blue Reela 1,500 Points

Boat 7m and Under Placing’s.

1. No Name 3,000 Points
2. Out Quoting 500 Points
3. Dragon Lady 391.25 Points

Top 5 SCGFC Point Scoring Anglers.

1.Peter Bain 3,000 Points
2.Troy Wakely 1,500 Points
3. Mark Holland 1,500 Points
4 Brett Barton 1,500 Points
5. John Dwyer 1,500 Points

First Billfish – Peter Bain
Last Billfish – Channon Arbutnot
Meritorious Effort Award – Wayne Finlay
Champion Visiting Boat – Zues
Encouragement Award – Blu Reela
Best Effort Award – Ed Martin
Hard Luck Award – Troy Rumblelow
Better Luck Next Time Award – Mick Heustis

Thank you Tony for the results!

Related Posts